A Novel-Writing Challenge

Ah, my first blog post! This marks the start of a new adventure for me. More like a challenge, really.

I’m going to write a novel.

This isn’t the first time I’ve said those words. It’s also not the first time I’ve attempted to write a novel. And I use the word “attempt” loosely. I’ve plotted out several story ideas, but for a variety of reasons they just didn’t pan out to much of anything. A large problem that gets in the way is my lack of confidence. Self-doubt has crippled my ability to get further than page one.

At the risk of sounding cliché, life is too short and I’m not getting any younger, so I’m going to challenge myself to write a novel NaNoWriMo style. Over the next 30 days, I’m going to push myself to write a 50,000-word book. I’m going to give myself permission to let the story pour out of me and get words onto the page – no matter how crappy they are.

Along the way I’ll be blogging about the process. It’s not going to be easy, but I’m excited to see where this challenge takes me.

 

4 thoughts on “A Novel-Writing Challenge

  1. Good luck but don’t be so hard on yourself. Everyone who does something that people can judge worry about being judged.
    I was so quiet people use to ask my father if I could talk, now I visit schools and read my own book to students and I have never been happier.

    Like

Leave a Reply

