Do You Use Scrivener?

Some time last year, I purchased Scrivener. I’ve kind of played around with it, but I haven’t taken the time to really learn how to use it beyond the very basics. Right now I’m using Scrivener to write my first draft. Rather than writing one long, ongoing draft as you would in a Word document, I’m writing my novel scene by scene, each in their own document.

Some people are a bit chaotic when they write. The story comes to them in bits and pieces, and Scrivener is ideal for that kind of writing. You can easily use Scrivener to write your scenes and then organize them as you need to, moving things around as new ideas come to mind.  

I’m a linear writer. I’m writing my story in the order in which it happens, starting from Chapter One. I’ve written several scenes so far, and I’m organizing them using the three-act structure with sub-folders for chapters and more sub-folders for scenes. This is going pretty well so far, but I feel like I’m not using Scrivener to its fullest capacity.

So I’ve been googling and found some links for tips on how to use Scrivener and thought I’d share:

  • A great post from Justine Covington with great examples on how she uses Scrivener to organize her writing
  • Natasha Lester has complied a list of posts she’s written on how to use Scrivener to write a book
  • Jason M. Hough has written two posts on how he uses Scrivener, part 1 and part 2
  • K.M. Weiland has two very detailed posts, one for outlining using Scrivener and the second on how she uses it to write her first draft
  • Literature and Latte, the maker of Scrivener, has a list of tutorials on their website

Do you use Scrivener? If so, feel free to share your tips in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

