A Short List for Short Stories

I’ve been plugging along with building up my writing habit. I’m still not writing every day, but I’ve written more in the past couple of weeks than I have in a long time, so progress is being made.

The flash fiction class that I took went pretty well. I now have a better understanding of how to structure a short story. The stories that I worked on for the class were good practice. Not very good fiction, but good practice nonetheless. Recently, I finished up a story of about 800 words that I’m pretty happy with. It’s only the first draft, so I’m going to set it aside for a week or two, go back and polish it up and submit it for publication. In the meantime, I’m going to brainstorm ideas for my next story.

Over the weekend, I started wondering about where to submit flash fiction and longer short stories for publication, so I did a Google search and came up with a few places to consider. Here’s a short list for short stories:

Not every story I write is good enough for submitting, but for those that I think have promise, it’s nice to know there are publications that pay for short fiction.

One thought on “A Short List for Short Stories

Leave a Reply

