Work-in-Progress Wednesday

WIP

I took a week off from writing. Eight days to be exact. This wasn’t something that I planned on doing. One day off just happened to snowball into an unexpected vacation from writing. Needless to say I’m behind on my manuscript.

This first draft is slowly moving along. Yesterday, I finally opened up the file again and started writing. I’ve been trying to get through the first Act. It feels like it’s taking forever. The scenes I’ve written so far are a jumbled mess that are full of holes. The writing is atrocious, the characters are flat, and the dialogue has no sparkle. Throughout the process, I keep asking myself the same question — Why? As in, why the hell are you putting yourself through this torture? There is, of course, only one answer to that question:

Because I don’t have a choice.

Without a first draft, I won’t know what the story is or how to fix it, or even see if it’s worth a rewrite. I’ve never written a novel before. I imagine the process will be the same every time I write a book — the torture part, that is. I just want to get the damn thing out of my system. Get it written already. That’s what keeps me chugging forward. I’ve gotten this far, I might as well keep on going. It’s the only way I’ll find out what happens next.

One thought on “Work-in-Progress Wednesday

  1. I am faaar too familiar with this feeling.
    When I first started Tiger’s Eye I desperately wanted to write Part Two – that’s where the action was, that’s the setting that inspired me.
    But first, of course, I had to get through Part One. I forced myself through most of it, eager to get to The Institute.
    Wanna know what happened by the time I got there? I wanted to write about her life in the city. Gone, was the burning need to write about an assassin camp in the woods where every second of every day is a fight for survival.
    It’s 100% infuriating. I know it comes back to what I’ve been reading lately; problem is, I don’t know what to read to make me switch back again.

    Good luck! Keep pushing on; you may find yourself pleasantly surprised. All first drafts are full of holes – it’s bound to happen when you’re discovering the story. That’s what editing’s for.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

